

Proceedings of Special Meeting of the Leeds City Council held at the Civic Hall, Leeds on Friday 12th May 2006

PRESENT: The Lord Mayor Councillor William Schofield Hyde in the Chair

WARD WARD

ADEL & WHARFEDALE CALVERLEY & FARSLEY

Clive Fox Frank Robinson
Barry John Anderson Andrew Carter

John Leslie Carter Amanda Lesley Carter

ALWOODLEY CHAPEL ALLERTON

Peter Mervyn Harrand Jane Dowson Sharon Hamilton

Mohammed Rafique

ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD CITY & HUNSLET

Mohammed Iqbal Elizabeth Nash

Jack Dunn

ARMLEY CROSSGATES & WHINMOOR

Peter John Gruen
Alison Natalie Kay Lowe Suzi Armitage
James McKenna Pauleen Grahame

BEESTON & HOLBECK FARNLEY & WORTLEY

David Congreve Luke Russell
Angela Gabriel David Blackburn
Adam Ogilvie Ann Blackburn

BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON

Angela Denise Atkinson Andrea Harrison
Ted Hanley

BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL GIPTON & HAREHILLS

David Hollingsworth Roger Harington
Ralph Pryke Alan Leonard Taylor
Richard Brett Javaid Akhtar

GUISELEY & RAWDON MORLEY NORTH

John Bale Thomas Leadley

Robert Finnigan Stewart McArdle

HAREWOOD MORLEY SOUTH

Alec Shelbrooke Christopher Beverley

Ann Castle Judith Elliott

Terrence Grayshon

HEADINGLEY OTLEY & YEADON

Martin Hamilton Ryk Downes

Graham Peter Kirkland James John Monaghan

HORSFORTH PUDSEY

Brian Cleasby
Christopher Townsley
Andrew Barker
Josephine Patricia Jarosz
Richard Alwyn Lewis

HYDE PARK & WOODHOUSE ROTHWELL

Barry Stewart Golton

Penny Ewens Kabeer Hussain

KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT ROUNDHAY

Brian Michael Selby Paul Wadsworth

Vonnie Morgan Valerie Kendall

KIPPAX & METHLEY TEMPLE NEWSAM

Keith Ivor Wakefield

James Lewis David Schofield

KIRKSTALL WEETWOOD

Bernard Peter Atha Judith Chapman

Elizabeth M Minkin

John Anthony Illingworth

Susan Bentley

MIDDLETON PARK WETHERBY

Geoffrey Driver Gerald Wilkinson
Judith Blake Andrew Millard

MOORTOWN

Brenda Lancaster

122 Honorary Freeman

It was moved by Councillor a Carter seconded by Councillor B Atha supported by Councillors S Golton, T Grayshon and D Blackburn and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That under and in pursuance of the powers conferred by Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972 the Council admit

ALAN BENNETT

to be an Honorary Freeman of the City of Leeds in recognition and high appreciation for his worldwide achievements as an author and as an outstanding citizen of Leeds and for the contribution his work has made to the reputation of the City.